Introduction: A Bittersweet Accomplishment

My Weight Loss Introduction
&
How I managed to fuck up a life long dream..


Packing On The Pounds

“In other words, I was that fat guy on the team and assumed this positions from age 8 all the way to my last year of high school.”

I have been playing rugby since the age of 8 years old. I have since then always assumed the number 3 position, which is known as the tight-head prop position. This is the position that the “big boys” take, usually short and stout with a huge chest and big shoulders supported by massive tree stump legs. If you look at a rugby scrum, my position was one of three that made up the very front row in a scrum. My objective as a prop was to take the ball and crash my body into a wall of opposing players and try to break the defensive line. In other words, I was that fat guy on the team and assumed this positions from age 8 all way to my last year of high school. You can say I was pretty active in high school, playing rugby and football, but I only went as far as doing what I deemed my self capable of and never over exerted my self or kept a healthy diet.

Typical Teen Years Daily Diet;
No breakfast
Cafeteria Poutine (Canada’s amazing fries with gravy and cheese) and a soda
4 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches when I got home from school
And then a fully cooked dinner which was like a thanks giving dinner every night. (rice, oil baked potatoes, red meat, sugar added mashed yams… and I always ate my food with a piece of bread.. ❤ life was good!

After high school was when my weight just sky rocketed since I worked next to a KFC and a Wendy’s. I ate here 3-4 times a week. This diet plus the fact that I’m not playing any rugby or football any more had me at 280 pounds.


Turning Point

“The one person that loves me the most, imagined me when picking out this shirt that I would look spectacular in it.”

It was my 20th birthday, my now fiance bought me a shirt from Guess which was a L size. I tried it on and it was way too tight, showing all of my love handles and all the crevices of my chest exposing my “man tits!” This was extremely discouraging and degrading to me. The one person that loves me the most, imagined me when picking out this shirt that I would look spectacular in it.

My now fiance then suggested to take it back and get a larger size. This is when I realized that, I can either fix the problem by looking past it and get a bigger sized shirt, hiding my weight, or man up and accept the fact that I’m fat and obese and to do the hard work to get a healthy life style on track. I said “No, I want this exact shirt, and I will wear it on my 21st birthday”

I immediately joined a gym the next day with my best friend who had been trying to get me to work out with him for the past 4 years.


Sweet Success

“a person will never ever be committed to weight loss or any other life changes that they desire unless they find a driving force inside of them to do so.”

It took a mere month for my body to show major results, I wasn’t so much worried about being skinny than to see my strength increase. All I was focused on was being better and stronger than my work out partner who has been working out for 4 years and holds a few MVP awards in both rugby and football. I used him as a benchmark from the very start which ultimately set me up for success from the start. I started by drinking allot of water, and eating less and working out. I went from 280 – 230 in 9 months.

I lost 50 pounds in 9 months from making slight changes, and not even being fully committed. I was finally able to dig into the closet and dust off the shirt that kick started all of this. I owe this journey and the drive to be a better me to this shirt I got as a gift.

I believe that a person will never ever be committed to weight loss or any other life changes that they desire unless they find a driving force inside of them to do so. In order to curb alcoholism, one simply don’t just wake up one morning and say “Oh today I will drop the bottle,” the set up for failure risk is very high. I found a drive to change from just simply a $40.00 shirt, something that you might think is small or really nothing, and I found the will to keep working at it by benchmarking someone that was better than me.

You need to ask your self, what will drive me to WANT to change, and what will KEEP me motivated to change.


Bitter Fall

“I was depriving my body of everything it screamed for while expecting it to lift heavy weights. My strength decreased drastically and so did my will to keep going. “

Once I reached 230 pounds, all I wanted was more, more and more. I became so addicted to it that my daily diet for a couple weeks consisted of a salad, a boiled egg and a can of tuna. I’d drive to the gym as soon I woke up just to go weigh my self then leave again only to return later that afternoon to do a hard work out all on no carbohydrates. I was depriving my body of everything it screamed for while expecting it to lift heavy weights. My strength decreased drastically and so did my will to keep going.

One of the major things that added to me stopping was that family and friends told me that I was at a good weight now, and that I’m already looking sick. I managed to maintain 230 pounds for about 9 months. My grandfather passed away and I went back home for two weeks. Two weeks of not caring about what I ate and I ended up getting accustomed to this and continued to do so when I got back home.

I quickly gained again, ten pounds up and people were still commenting on how good I looked. So it never really bothered me. All of a sudden I’m up to 250 pounds and I started working out again just to maintain. Then came 260 and I started trying hard again, this time it seemed very hard. It’s hard to stick to something when you known you’ve accomplished greatness before and have lost hold of it and now you need to start over again. All that hard work I had to do, now all lost in a matter of a year.

I lost interest in trying to chase and reel my dream back in again, it seemed so far gone. The worst thing was knowing that I had it all at the tips of my fingers and now I need to redo everything. For the last 2-3 years I totally lost interest in being active and keeping a healthy diet and have been in the ranges of 270-282 pounds.


Purpose Of This Blog

For this blog, I hope to share with you my journey to do this weight loss again and come out even better than before. I have started this journey again in June of 2014 and have since lost 15 pounds. I will be adding foods and recipes and tips. I hope you can help me in any way you deem beneficial for me. No matter our skill level, we all can learn from someone.

Leave a comment